I have a baby shower to attend this weekend so of course that means baby quilt!  I seldom use a standard pattern, I like to create my own sort of ‘design as I go’ thing.  It can be time consuming, and the result not always what I envisioned.  Then there’s that problem of running out of fabric that you need to make it somewhat cohesive (insert necessary trip to my LQS). Anyway, my absolute favorite block is the nested churn dash.  I. LOVE. IT.  It’s fun and simple and finishes at 24″ square. Big.  I like big blocks and I cannot lie . . .

I had this little bird in my stash that I decided to fussy cut and went from there. img_1911-2My original plan was to just keep going on the churn dash until it became a size I liked, maybe 42X42?   I hate math though, so I decided to just add more churn dashes of different sizes.  Of course, geese are welcome in most quilts and I saw this tutorial for migrating geese while scrolling through Pinterest and gave it a shot.  Not perfect (my work, that is, not the tutorial!) but I’m not a perfectionist.  Since I’m new at this blogging thing I haven’t yet figured out how to post links, hopefully that worked.  If not you can copy and paste this 🙂 http://janeweston.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/rainbow-migrating-geese-tutorial.html

I love scrappy backs.  My norm is to make some sort of block for the back so the quilt seems more personal or maybe even two-sided.  Time-crunch here though, needed to finish up. I cut up what was left (and added a small bit of scraps for good measure) and I’m satisfied.img_1918-2  I just did some organic straight line quilting and then used a scrappy binding. Finished size is 40″X 44″.  The soft colors make me smile.  I hope it brings this beautiful new life lots of warm snuggles.

Audreyimg_1910img_1912img_1915-2